What is the International structure of cricket?

International cricket did not have a systematic structure until the early twenty-first century. It had long been customary for nations to plan their cricket matches without the help of an organization like the International Cricket Council. 

The ICC subsequently agreed to set up a 10-year schedule of matches between the countries that play Test cricket. This strategy was implemented to encourage more powerful nations to play the weaker ones more regularly. Let us learn more about the international structure of cricket. 

How cricket is played

The International Cricket Council, which provides match officials, has established the rules and regulations under which these matches are played.

The traditional interpretation of the game, test cricket, has been played since 1877 and is presently standardized in a format consisting of five days with two innings per day. Because it puts teams to the test over a more extended period, it is regarded as the highest form. 

Teams must demonstrate endurance, technique, and temperament under various circumstances to succeed in this style.

Most One-Day and test match series are played as “tours.” During a tour, a nation travels to another country. It competes in warm-up games, first-class matches against local teams like state teams, a sequence of Test matches against the hosting country, and a tournament with the host country and another touring country. 

When one tour is near to end and the other has just started, the “triangular tournament” structure is frequently employed, or it may only include one team for that tournament. 

The three teams compete against one another twice or three times during the competition. the two sides with the most points, typically two for a victory and one for a loss

One Day International

Three to seven games make up the One-Day Series. Even though the one-day matches and Test matches are typically played in groups, the shorter one-day series are frequently played concurrently with the larger Test series. One-day internationals no longer often disrupt a Test series. Nations may also plan one-day matches at neutral sites in addition to tours. Before the Indian government ordered the suspension of all cricketing relations with Pakistan, reinstated in 2004, the Sahara Cup was an annual one-day series played between India and Pakistan in Toronto. Similarly, Sharjah in the United Arab Emirates hosted a semi-annual triangular tournament.

Test Series

The length of a Test series can range from two to six games. Around 1980, the six-match series was popular; from 1981 to 1997, the Ashes Test series in England was a six-match series. The West Indies and England played a six-game series from 1997 to 1998. The most extended series is five games long, while the shorter ones are two to four games long. The series’ duration depends on how the host nation feels about one-day internationals; traditional nations like England and Australia typically have five-match series, whereas countries where one-day cricket is vast, like India and Pakistan, prefer three-match series. An everlasting trophy is most likely presented to the victorious player or team.

Twenty20 Internationals

The newest, quickest, and most compact version of the game is Twenty20 Internationals. Since its introduction in 2005, this style has attracted new audiences and inspired the development of unique expertise and ideas. A Twenty20 World match typically lasts three hours, and with the powerful hitting, expert bowling, and outstanding fielding, it has gained enormous popularity among fans worldwide. The ICC World Twenty20 is the top international T20 competition, debuting in 2007. Since then, it has been hosted five more times, with the addition of the ICC Women’s World Twenty20 in 2009. Twenty-20 betting can be done on the parimatch site.

Ten-Year Plan of ICC

The ICC member nations accepted this proposal in February 2001, intending to force all nations to face each other in Test cricket for over ten years. 

It guarantees that each Test nation will face the other nine home and away throughout ten years, in addition to any matches that the different cricket boards organize on their own, beginning in 2002 and continuing until 2011. Thus, from April 2004 to April 2005, India and Pakistan engaged in a series of 12 ODIs and 6 Tests at home (excluding neutral-ground ODI competitions like the Asia Cup), followed by a second series of 3 Tests and 5 ODIs in the winter of 2006.

There has been criticism about the volume of international cricket played, with the likelihood of damage and player exhaustion cited as reasons why this volume should be reduced. However, because of the strict timetable of the Ten Annual Plan, there is scarcely any time left to arrange other series. 


Cricket has grown to be cherished and enjoyed not only in India but around the world. With sites like Parimatch that offer great betting bonuses and insights, it has become easy for cricket fanatics to make money.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Back to top button